My Setup

I use a spare bedroom in the house we rent. I couldn’t have the basement because my husband needs it all for his many motorcycle projects! Kidding! I don’t actually want to work in the basement because my leather might mildew.

The workbench

The workbench. The oscillating sander at far left isn’t ideal for shaping the soles, but i like it better than the bench grinder I tried. At center (that is, on the corner closest to us), a pin for holding the last. My prized 5-in-1 is at far right. Oh, that was hard to find!

Skins hang from shower curtain hooks in the closet.

Skins hang from shower curtain hooks in the closet.

I sew with a Juki.

I sew with a Juki.

Rivets, hand-sewing supplies, various tools,  lasts, masking tape, cements and gloves

Rivets, various tools and supplies, lasts, masking tape, cements and gloves. I need to build an updraft table for when I cement.

My husband converted a variable-speed drill press into a buffing mechanism. I feel like I ought to be working with sanding and buffing wheels, but I'm still clueless about this aspect of finishing the soles.

My husband converted a variable-speed drill press into a buffing mechanism. I feel like I ought to be working with sanding and buffing wheels, but I’m still clueless about this aspect of finishing the soles.

4 thoughts on “My Setup

  1. Looks like a great setup. How often do you get in there and how much time do you spend? It doesn’t look like it is something you can pick up and work on for a few minutes or hold in your lap, but maybe you are sketching designs when you’re not in there.
    Diane Fitz

  2. Hi, Diane! Honestly, it depends how much energy my day job has sucked out of me! I might put in an hour or two in the evening. Or if by some miracle I’ve woken up early enough to devote 45 minutes before going to the office, I’ll pop in there and trace and rough-cut some uppers, or cement them to the lining, So I mostly work in increments. I try to spend at least 4 hours working on sandals on Saturdays and Sundays.

    • The best part is definitely the huge manly tools. 🙂
      I wondered if anyone would notice those lilac walls! The room came like that, and in terms of changing it, well, I only like the first 3 minutes of painting walls. After that, I’m bored, my arms ache, my back hurts, and I LOATHE it. A friend of mine made a crack about the color, but I don’t actually mind it at all. And certainly not enough to do anything about it!

Leave a Reply

