Start of New Shoe Class

Our teacher, Jessica Brommer, said that we can make anything we like in Shoe 2. So I’m gonna produce some boots roughly patterned on these Remonte Dorndorfs, which I’ve worn into the ground.

the bootWe’re at week 3 of class, and here’s what we’ve done so far.

We chose our lasts, altered them to make them wider where necessary, then draped them to make a pattern. Finally, we cut the pattern out of ugly leather to make this hideous fitter. It's just to check that the last will make a shoe that fits. I was pleased to discover that it's a perfect fit!

Each student chose his or her lasts, altered them to make them wider where necessary, then draped them to make a pattern. Finally, I cut my pattern out of ugly leather to make this hideous fitter. It’s just to check that the last will make a shoe that fits. I was pleased to discover that it’s close to perfect!

We then altered the original pattern taken off the last into a pattern for the boot.

I then altered the original pattern taken off the last into a pattern for the boot. My finished boot will zip closed rather than lace up, but this pattern shows lace holes because we will first make a fitter to check that the overall shape is correct (see the photo below). The fitter is down and dirty (as if you hadn’t noticed with the pink monstrosity above!) so we’re not going to bother to put in an inside zipper–hence the laces. Without them, I can’t get the last out of the fitter, nor get my foot inside it to check the fit.

Here's the start to my glam-rock boot fitters. Dang it, we ran out of time, so since I still need to cement them to a sole before I can try them on, I can't report back whether my pattern is good, or if it will need adjusting!

Here’s my almost-finished glam-rock boot fitters. Dang it, we ran out of time. I still need to cement them to a sole before I can try them on–agh, I hate having to wait for next class! I therefore can’t report back whether my pattern is good, or if it will need adjusting. Visually, I think this flares out too much at the top, and I think it’s too snug at the ankle. I want a look that’s more slouchy…granted, this leather is pretty thick and stiff.

Leave a Reply

